Appointments X

Appointments X (an experimental participation and exhibition format)

The local as an existing resource – even in the wake of the pandemic – is gaining in importance in the context of institutional practice. The local and the dialogue of different actors in and outside the art field, as well as the building of relationships through communication, are also at the center of the experimental exhibition project “Appointments X”.

“The audience is the best director,” said the theater director Joan Littlewood, who worked with the architect Cedric Price in London in the early 1960s on the Fun Palace project, which could never be realized. The idea was revolutionary. In the Fun Palace a place was to be created in which staging, self-awareness and experience would be inextricably linked. Littlewood was strongly interested in an opening of conventional theater, in which the boundaries between representation and contemplation, between stage and reality would be abolished. Topics that are still extremely topical today.

We are not building a “Fun Palace”! But as a reference, “Appointments X” is referring to it. The exhibition space becomes a temporary stage for encounters. The invited artists, directors, performers interact with the audience. They organize workshops, they bring their village into our house, they activate visitors and take us outside – mentally, but also physically. Some of them are still in the middle of the process and with an open outcome they invite us to think and act with them.

Admission is free for the duration of the exhibition!

Cooperations: University of Fine Arts Dresden, OSTEN Theaterfestival Bitterfeld, Kulturbahnhof e.V. Markkleeberg, FAIL (Fine Arts Institute Leipzig), University of Music and Theatre Leipzig

Loading …

Appointments X

Appointments X (ein experimentelles Partizipations- und Ausstellungsformat)

Das Lokale als vorhandene Ressource – auch im Zuge der Pandemie – gewinnt im Zusammenhang institutioneller Praxis an Bedeutung. Das Lokale und der Dialog unterschiedlicher Akteure im und außerhalb des Kunstfeldes, sowie das Aufbauen von Beziehungen durch Kommunikation stehen auch im Zentrum des experimentellen Ausstellungsprojekts „Appointments X“.

„The audience is the best director“, sagte die Theaterregisseurin Joan Littlewood, die Anfang der 1960er Jahre zusammen mit dem Architekten Cedric Price in London am Projekt Fun Palace arbeitete, welcher nie realisiert werden konnte. Die Idee war revolutionär. Im Fun Palace sollte ein Ort entstehen, in dem Inszenierung, Selbsterfahrung und Erlebnis untrennbar miteinander verbunden sein würden. Littlewood war stark an einer Öffnung des konventionellen Theaters interessiert, in dem die Grenzen zwischen Darstellung und Betrachtung, zwischen Bühne und Realität aufgehoben werden sollten. Themen, die auch heute wieder überaus aktuell sind.

Wir bauen keinen „Fun Palace“! Als Referenz jedoch lehnt sich „Appointments X“ hier an. Hier wird der Ausstellungsraum zur temporären Bühne für Begegnungen. Die eingeladenen Künstler:innen, Regisseur:innen, Performer:innen interagieren mit dem Publikum. Sie veranstalten Workshops, sie bringen ihr Dorf in unser Haus, sie aktivieren Besucher:innen und nehmen uns mit hinaus – gedanklich, aber auch konkret. Sie sind zum Teil noch mitten im Prozess und mit offenem Ausgang laden sie uns ein, mit-zu-denken bzw. mit-zu-handeln.

Der Eintritt ist während der Ausstellungsdauer frei!

Kooperationen: u.a. Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden, OSTEN Theaterfestival Bitterfeld, Kulturbahnhof e.V. Markkleeberg, FAIL (Fine Arts Institut Leipzig), Hochschule für Musik und Theater Leipzig

Lädt…