Café

At regular intervals, artists redesign the café at the GfZK – Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig. Its interior design, name, and sometimes even gastronomic offerings change in the process. The new café will open on March 8, 2024 and was conceived by artist Ruth Buchanan as an outpost of the Artspace Aotearoa, which is run by the artist.

Ruth Buchanan’s artistic work includes exhibition-making, writing, design, and teaching. Since November 2022, her practice has primarily revolved around her role as the Kaitohu Director of Artspace Aotearoa. Founded in 1987 by artists and arts workers, the publicly funded contemporary art gallery is located in the heart of Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland. Each year the entire programme orbits around one central question. In 2024, Artspace Aoteaora asks: “do I need territory?” Taking this question as a point of departure, Buchanan declares GfZK’s café to be an outpost of Artspace Aotearoa and names it after the gallery’s address: 292 Karangahape Road. By transferring details from the artspace’s structure, colours, and graphic design to the café, Buchanan invites visitors to participate in a speculative exchange that unfolds over time between Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland and Leipzig.

292 Karangahape Road is run by Max Heyne, Felix Kastl, and Toni Krätzer (TREI GmbH), who already work closely together with the Leipzig cafés dankbar and grato. Their concept envisages both a daytime café serving breakfast, lunch, and coffee and home-baked cakes, as well as a place where guests can come together in the evening for light meals and selected drinks.

Opening hours:
Mon closed
Tue, Weds, Sun 9 am–7 pm
Thu–Sat 9 am–12 am

Opening:
March 8, 8 pm

Opening hours on March 9:
9 am–5 pm
10 pm-2 am

Contact Café:
TREI GmbH
Person of contact: Felix Kastl
cafe@gfzk.de

 

 

More information

Loading …

Café

In regelmäßigen Abständen gestalten Künstler*innen das Café der GfZK – Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig neu. Dabei verändern sich die Inneneinrichtung, der Name und mitunter auch das gastronomische Angebot. Das neue Café eröffnet am 8. März 2024 und wurde von der Künstlerin Ruth Buchanan als Außenposten des von ihr geleiteten Artspace Aotearoa konzipiert.

Ruth Buchanans künstlerische Arbeit umfasst Ausstellungen, Texte, Gestaltung, Lehre und seit November 2022 die Leitung des Artspace Aotearoa. Der 1987 von Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden gegründete, öffentlich geförderte Kunstraum befindet sich im Zentrum von Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland. Sein Programm kreist um eine jährlich wechselnde Frage. In Zusammenhang mit der aktuellen Frage do i need territory? (in etwa: „Brauche ich ein Gebiet?“) erklärt Buchanan das GfZK Café zu einer Außenstelle des neuseeländischen Kunstraums und benennt es nach dessen Adresse: 292 Karangahape Road. Buchanan überträgt räumliche, farbliche und grafische Gestaltungsdetails aus dem Artspace Aotearoa in das GfZK Café. Damit lädt sie die Besucher*innen ein, an einem spekulativen Austausch teilzunehmen, der sich im Laufe der Zeit zwischen Tāmaki Makaurau Auckland und Leipzig entwickelt.

Betrieben wird das 292 Karangahape Road von Max Heyne, Felix Kastl und Toni Krätzer (TREI GmbH), die bereits in den Leipziger Cafés dankbar und grato eng zusammenarbeiten. Ihr Konzept sieht sowohl ein Tagescafé mit Frühstücks- und Mittagsangebot sowie Kaffee und hausgebackenem Kuchen vor, als auch einen Ort, an dem Gäste am Abend zu kleinen Speisen und ausgesuchten Getränken zusammenkommen.

Öffnungszeiten:
Mo geschlossen
Di, Mi, So 9-19 Uhr
Do-Sa 9-0 Uhr

Eröffnung:
8. März 2024, ab 20 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten am 9. März 2024:
9-17 Uhr und 22-2 Uhr

Kontakt Café:
TREI GmbH
Ansprechperson: Felix Kastl
cafe@gfzk.de

 

 

Weiterführende Beiträge

Lädt…