Travesty for Advanced Performers: Walking Through Walls

Following on from Warte Mal! and training, the third and final part in the Travesty for Advanced Performers exhibition series bears the title Walking Through Walls. It takes its name from an installation by Anna Witt, the current award winner of the art prize Future of Europe, which brings together two very different refugee stories.

In parts one and two, discussions on themes such as normality, diversity, integration and exclusion were presented (Warte Mal!) and acted out (training). In part three, individual behaviour is introduced and collective experiences are generated, with the aim of breaking through conceptual borders and opening up new spaces for thought. The focus is on performative elements, and once again the building is transformed into several stages where performances can take place.

In their series of performances entitled Norm is Fiction, NAF (Nana Hülsewig and Fender Schrade) disrupt everyday events in public spaces. In the film Powder Placenta, Katrina Daschner presents fairytale-like scenes in idyllic surroundings, where identity and belonging undergo fluent changes. In the installation The Distance between W and V and the workshop Objects in Diaspora, Yael Davids addresses themes of security and displacement, and stages moments of transformation. With her time-based arts class from Halle/Burg Giebichenstein, Michaela Schweiger builds a modular stage on the theme of normality in Sehnsucht unter Normalnull. Frank Kapfer recycles PET bottles into fairy-tale like sculptures reminiscent of the luxuriant ornamentation of Murano chandeliers, making associations between symbols of power and masculinity in a humorous way.  The director Heike Hennig shows a new version of Optophobia and holds a workshop on the theme of metamorphosis. In her dance performance Écran Somnambule, Latifa Laâbissi reconstructs the film footage of Mary Wigman’s witch dance image by image, in order to question how individual behaviour changes social assumptions and arrangements.

 

More information

In Cooperation with:

2013 - Schriftzug - Schauspiel Leipzig_v1_pfade_nobel

Kindly supported by

logo_ksb_blauPerspektiveMondriaan FondsNiederländische Botschaft
Loading …

Travestie für Fortgeschrittene: Durch Wände gehen

Nach den Projektteilen Warte Mal! und training heißt der dritte und letzte Teil von Travestie für Fortgeschrittene: Durch Wände Gehen. Titelgebend ist die gleichnamige Installation von Anna Witt, der aktuellen Preisträgerin des Kunstpreises Europas Zukunft, die zwei sehr unterschiedliche Flüchtlingsgeschichten zusammenführt.

Nachdem die Auseinandersetzungen zu Themen wie Normalität, Diversität, Einbeziehung und Ausgrenzung in Teil eins und zwei ausgebreitet (Warte Mal!) und durchgespielt (training) wurden, werden in Teil drei individuelle Handlungsweisen vorgestellt und kollektive Erfahrungen generiert, die darauf abzielen, ideelle Grenzen zu überschreiten und neue Denkräume zu erschließen. Das Performative tritt in den Vordergrund und das Gebäude verwandelt sich erneut in mehrere bespielbare Bühnen.

Im Rahmen ihrer Performancereihe Norm ist Fiktion unterbrechen NAF (Nana Hülsewig und Fender Schrade) das Alltagsgeschehen im öffentlichen Raum. Katrina Daschner inszeniert im Film Powder Placenta märchenhafte Szenen in einer idyllischen Umgebung, in der sich Identität und Zugehörigkeit fließend verändern. Yael Davids setzt sich in der Installation The Distance between W and V und dem Workshop Objects in Diaspora mit Themen der Geborgenheit und der Vertreibung auseinander und inszeniert Momente der Transformation. Michaela Schweiger baut in Sehnsucht unter Normalnull zusammen mit ihrer Klasse Zeitbasierte Künste aus Halle/Burg Giebichenstein eine modulare Bühne zum Thema Normalität. Frank Kapfer recycelt in seinen Plastiken PET-Flaschen zu märchenhaften Skulpturen, die an das üppige Ornament von Murano-Lüster anspielen, um Macht- und Männlichkeitssymbole humorvoll miteinander zu verknüpfen. Die Regisseurin Heike Hennig zeigt eine Neufassung von Optophobia und hält einen Workshop zum Thema der Verwandlung. Latifa Laâbissi stellt in ihrer Tanzperformance Écran Somnambule die Filmaufnahmen des Hexentanzes von Mary Wigman Bild für Bild nach und beschäftigt sich damit, wie individuelle Handlungsweisen gesellschaftliche Annahmen und Vereinbarungen verändern.

Weiterführende Beiträge

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

logo_ksb_blauPerspektiveMondriaan FondsNiederländische Botschaft

In Kooperation mit:

2013 - Schriftzug - Schauspiel Leipzig_v1_pfade_nobel
Lädt…