Film: Christian Nyampeta – „A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow“

Christian Nyampeta, Film Still aus A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow, 2018-fortlaufend
Christian Nyampeta, Film Still aus A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow, 2018-fortlaufend

A public programme invites to excursions and screenings that focus on the colonial legacies of the German Empire in Rwanda and its afterlives in Leipzig.

Screenings with films by Christian Nyampeta, Kivu Ruhorahoza, Clémentine Dusabejambo and Amelia Umuhire.

‘A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Happiness Without Sorrow’ by Christian Nyampeta:

The film is a ‘work in progress’. Whenever Nyampeta can expand the question ‘How to live together’, he reflects new perspectives audio-visually.

‘Visual Anthropology and Tourism in the Wake of a Romantic Break-Up’ by Kivu Ruhorahoza:

When his relationship with Jeanne ends, a man leaves New York City and revisits Zanzibar where he used to holiday with his ex. This time though, the man sees Zanzibar for what it truly is, a city besieged by tourists and locals performing authenticity for the tourist’s amused gaze.

‘Behind the Word’ by Marie-Clémentine Dusabejambo:

A boarding school pupil is bullied by her classmates and a teacher due to her difficulties with the English and French language. Her language barriers are the reason why she cannot articulate her sorrow facing a cold atmosphere at school. Everything changes when the art teacher finally sees her ability for drawing.

‘Mugabo’ by Amelia Umuhire:

The experimental short film ‚Mugabo‘ (2017) deals with returning to a home and suppressed trauma. It was screened at MOCA Los Angeles, Smithsonian African American Museum, Berlin Biennale 2018, MCA Chicago and at the International Film Festival Rotterdam. It won the price for “Best Experimental Film” at the Blackstar Film Festival in Philadelphia.

Furthermore there will be a talk with Christian Nyampeta and Arlette-Louise Ndakoze.

Arlette-Louise Ndakoze is an independent researcher-journalist primarily researching on sources of wisdom-knowledge, with radio being her medium of passion. For several years, Arlette looks out on artistic and intellectual movements in Rwanda and further African cultures, researching on philosophical disciplines, literature scenes, and what has tied the cultures up to now. As a member of SAVVY Contemporary, Arlette cultivates Telling Trees, an informal storytelling series on sources of knowledge in African cultures, proposing the various communities in Berlin a place of culture building and living.

 

More information

Loading …

Filmpräsentation: Christian Nyampeta – „A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow“

Christian Nyampeta, Film Still aus A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow, 2018-fortlaufend
Christian Nyampeta, Film Still aus A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow, 2018-fortlaufend

Mit Filmen von Christian Nyampeta, Kivu Ruhorahoza, Clémentine Dusabejambo und Amelia Umuhire.

Die Frage nach den Möglichkeiten des Zusammenlebens, die Christian Nyampeta in seinen Arbeiten interessiert, ist auch ein zentrales Thema in Filmen ruandischer Künstler*innen. Die gezeigten Filme beleuchten die Bedeutung von Sprache, von Verlusterfahrung und Strategien der Bewältigung, auch im Hinblick auf die Nachwirkungen der Kolonialgeschichte.

‚A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Happiness Without Sorrow‘ von Christian Nyampeta:

Der Film ist ein ‚work in progress‘, der vom Künstler erweitert wird, wann immer er seine grundlegende Fragestellung „How to Live Toghether“ um eine Perspektive erweitern kann und dies audiovisuell belegen und verarbeiten kann.

‚Visual Anthropology and Tourism in the Wake of a Romantic Break-Up‘ von Kivu Ruhorahoza:

Nach einer Trennung verlässt ein Mann New York City und besucht den Urlaubsort von ihm und seiner ehemaligen Partnerin: Sansibar. Dieses Mal jedoch erkennt der Mann Sansibar als eine von Touristen belagerte Stadt, in der die Lokalbevölkerung scheinbare Authenzität zum Gefallen der Touristen aufführt.

‚Behind the Word‘ von Marie-Clémentine Dusabejambo:

Wegen ihren Schwierigkeiten mit der englischen und französischen Sprache ist eine Internatsschülerin erheblichem Spott ihrer Klassenkameraden und eines Lehrers ausgesetzt. Die Sprachbarrieren erschweren es ihr, ihr Leid angesichts der abweisenden Atmosphäre an der Schule zu formulieren, bis eine Kunstlehrerin über das zeichnerische Talent der Schülerin auf deren Situation aufmerksam wird.

‚Mugabo‘ von Amelia Umuhire:

Der experimentelle Kurzfilm „Mugabo“ (2017), der von der Rückkehr in die Heimat und unterdrücktem Trauma handelt, wurde u.a. im MOCA Los Angeles, Smithsonian African American Museum, Berlin Biennale 2018, MCA Chicago und beim International Film Festival Rotterdam gezeigt und gewann den Preis für den „Best Experimental Film“ beim Blackstar Film Festival in Philadelphia.

Außerdem findet ein Gespräch mit Christian Nyampeta und Arlette-Louise Ndakoze statt.

Arlette-Louise Ndakoze ist unabhängige Forscherin-Journalistin mit Quellen des Weisheit-Wissens im Blick und Radio als ihr geliebtes Medium im Herzen. Seit vielen Jahren blickt Arlette auf künstlerische und intellektuelle Bewegungen in Rwanda und in weiteren afrikanischen Kulturen, mit Forschungen zu philosophischen Disziplinen, Literaturszenen und zum Band, der die Kulturen bis heute zusammenhält. Als Mitglied von SAVVY Contemporary ist Arlette Kuratorin von Telling Trees, eine informelle Storytelling-Serie, die aus Wissensquellen afrikanischer Kulturen schöpft – dies als Vorschlag für die unterschiedlichen Communities in Berlin, einen Ort zu teilen, wo Kultur gebildet und gelebt wird.

Weiterführende Beiträge

Lädt…