Christian Nyampeta: A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow

A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow is the artist Christian Nyampeta’s first solo exhibition in Germany.

The title is taken from Een bloemhof van allerley lieflijkheyd sonder verdriet (1668), a dictionary compiled by Adriaan Koerbagh, a Dutch philosopher of Germanic heritage and a companion of Spinoza and circles surrounding him. Due to this writing, which intervened against the cultural injustice arising from the abuse of religious and clerical knowledge, he lived in exile and died in prison in Amsterdam.

Drawing from Koerbagh’s practice of collective annotation, narration and publishing, Nyampeta’s A Flower Garden at the GfZK consists of three components: a working period in which a scriptorium supports the English and German translation of texts from visual cultures of Rwandan expression, an exhibition with murals, projections and sculpture that focus on the colonial legacy of Germany in Rwanda, and a public program.

The translation includes songs, philosophy and poems, presented within a growing dossier that consists of current and past translations from previous sessions hosted farther afield, and films informed by these translations. The murals are conceived as timelines, portraying the forcefully intertwined histories of Rwanda and Germany. They include archival documents, writings and photographs from the Archive for Geography at the Leibniz-Institut für Länderkunde, specially digitised for this occasion. Other documents are issued from the holdings of the Afrikamissionare Weisse Väter in Cologne and the” Special Collections Africa” (Specialsammlung Afrika) at the Goethe University Frankfurt.
The exhibition also contains sculptures described as “hosting structures”. These are furniture-like abstractions of the cultural artefacts depicted in the archival material, composed from assembling mechanisms in multicoloured composite sheets, using a material process that is a metaphor for collectivity. As 2019 marks the 25th anniversary of the Rwandan Genocide, the artist has dedicated these sculptures to minor Rwandan and German figures who were unjustly persecuted for their beliefs, ideas or behavior.

Finally, the public program is conceived as an “evening school”, gathering thoughts, readings, poems, songs, and videos and featuring artists, theorists, musicians and filmmakers, and staff and students from the University of Leipzig. A Flower Garden at GfZK is part of an iterative program of exhibitions, screenings and performances of the same name, taking place in Amsterdam, Mechelen, Kigali, London and New York.

Christian Nyampeta works in art, design and theory, and his other current exhibitions include Contour Biennale 9 and IMA Brisbane. Recent exhibitions include Dakar Biennale (2018) and e-flux New York (2017). Nyampeta is completing his PhD in Visual Cultures at Goldsmiths, University of London.

Sponsored by: Alpha 2000, Europas Zukunft gUG, Förderkreis der GfZK

 

Loading …

Christian Nyampeta: A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow

Der Künstler Christian Nyampeta zeigt mit der Ausstellung A Flower Garden of All Kinds of Loveliness Without Sorrow seine erste Einzelpräsentation in Deutschland.

Der Titel wird dem enzyklopädischem Werk Een bloemhof van allerley lieflijkheyd sonder verdriet (1668) des niederländischen Philosophen und Religion-Kritikers Adriaan Koerbagh, ein Weggefährte  Spinozas, entlehnt. Aufgrund dieser Schrift, die gegen die aus missbräuchlichem Einsatz von religiösem und klerikalem Wissen hervorgerufene  kulturelle Ungerechtigkeit intervenierte, lebte er im Exil und starb im Gefängnis in Amsterdam.

Ausgehend von Koerbaghs risikobereiten Praxis des Kommentierens, Erzählens und Publizierens, besteht  Nyampetas A Flower Garden in der GfZK aus drei Komponenten: Einer Arbeitsphase, in der im Rahmen eines Skriptoriums die englischen und deutschen Übersetzungen von Texten ruandischer Akteur*innen visueller Kultur bearbeitetet werden, einer Ausstellung mit Wandbildern, Projektionen und Skulpturen, die das koloniale Erbe Deutschlands in Ruanda zum Ausdruck bringen und einem öffentlichen Programm.

In einem über die Dauer der Ausstellung wachsenden Dossier werden die aktuellen Übersetzungen von Liedern, Gedichten und philosophischen Texten, aber auch Resultate aus vergangenen, in der Ferne stattgefundenen Sitzungen, präsentiert.  Die Wandbilder sind als Chronik  konzipiert, welche die verwobenen Geschichten zwischen Ruanda und Deutschland wiedergeben. Dazu gehören Archivmaterialien wie Schriften und Fotografien, die eigens für diesen Anlass in Kooperation mit dem Archiv für Geographie des Leibniz-Instituts für Länderkunde in Leipzig  digitalisiert werden. Weitere Dokumente werden aus den Beständen der Afrikamissionare Weisse Väter in Köln und der Afrika Spezialsammlung der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt hervorgebracht.

Die in der Ausstellung installierten möbelähnlichen Skulpturen, auch benannt als „hosting structures“, sind Abstraktionen der im Archivmaterial dargestellten kulturellen Artrefakte. Durch die Montage aus bunten Verbundplatten verweist ihr materieller Prozess auf eine Metapher für die Kollektivität. Angesichts dessen, dass 2019 der ruandische Völkermord 25 Jahre zurück liegt, widmet Nyampeta diese Skulpturen ruandischen und deutschen Minderheiten, die wegen ihres Glaubens, ihrer Ideen oder ihres Handelns zu Unrecht verfolgt wurden.

In dem als „Abendschule“ konzipierten öffentlichen Programm werden zusammen mit Künstler*innen, Musiker*innen und Filmemacher*innen sowie Mitarbeiter*innen und Studierenden der Universität Leipzig Lesungen, Musikeinlagen und Videoscreenings stattfinden wie auch Gedanken ausgetauscht.  A Flower Garden in der GfZK ist Teil eines sich wiederholenden  Programms mit gleichnamigen Ausstellungen, Filmvorführungen und Performances in Amsterdam, Kigali, London und New York.

Christian Nyampetas Schaffen vereint  Kunst, Design und Theorie. Aktuell stellt er bei der Contour Biennale 9 und im Institute of Modern Art in Brisbane aus. Zu seinen jüngsten Ausstellungen gehören die Dakar Biennale (2018) und die e-flux New York (2017). Nyampeta promoviert derzeit an der Goldsmiths Universität in London.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von: Alpha 2000, Europas Zukunft gUG, Förderkreis der GfZK

Lädt…