Dig it? – Digital prototypes in the museum

Digital technologies and media have an impact on today’s world. They promote new forms of knowledge and action and change our ideas of living (together) in society. From an aesthetic point of view, digitality, and thus the manifold interactions between analogue and digital experience, is of particular interest.

In collaboration with artists, software and game designers and experts of everyday life, we would like to explore these interactions and develop digital prototypes for more participation and co-determination in the museum. Plans include a museum game inviting visitors to take part in the design of the GfZK, digital display panels operated by small robots, and devices that generate electricity during visits to the exhibition, which can be used to call up information on the artistic works or communicate with one another.

We will experiment with digital technologies in both the real and virtual space of the GfZK. We wish to approach them with curiosity, but also with a critical eye – partly because we do not always understand how they work and what effect they have. We also wish to publicly reflect upon our working method as an art institution and expand the artistic and social potential of the museum. In collaboration with everyone involved in the project, we strive to achieve an ecologically conscious and community-minded approach to digitality.

The project Dig it? – Digital prototypes in the museum is developed as part of “dive in. Programme for Digital Interactions” of the Kulturstiftung des Bundes (German Federal Cultural Foundation) with funding by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media (BKM) through the NEUSTART KULTUR programme.”

Loading …

Dig it? – Prototypen fürs Museum

Digitale Technologien und Medien prägen unsere Gegenwart. Sie befördern neue Wissens- und Handlungsformen und verändern unsere Vorstellungen vom gesellschaftlichen (Zusammen)leben. Aus ästhetischer Sicht ist dabei Digitalität, und damit die vielfältigen Wechselwirkungen zwischen analoger und digitaler Erfahrung, von besonderem Interesse.

Gemeinsam mit Künstler:innen, Software- und Spieledesigner:innen, mit Ingenieur:innen und Expert:innen des Alltags möchten wir diese Wechselwirkungen erforschen und digitale Prototypen für mehr Teilhabe und Mitbestimmung im Museum entwickeln. Geplant sind unter anderem ein Museumsspiel, das zur Mitgestaltung der GfZK einlädt, digitale Anzeigetafeln, die von kleinen Robotern betrieben werden, und Geräte, die während des Ausstellungsbesuchs Strom erzeugen, der zum Abrufen von Informationen über die künstlerischen Arbeiten oder für die Kommunikation der Nutzer:innen untereinander genutzt wird.

Wir wollen im reellen und im virtuellen Raum der GfZK mit digitalen Technologien und Medien experimentieren. Uns neugierig und zugleich kritisch mit ihnen auseinandersetzen – auch weil wir ihre Funktionsweise und Effekte nicht immer oder noch nicht verstehen. Wir möchten unsere Arbeitsweise als Kunstinstitution öffentlich reflektieren und die künstlerischen und sozialen Potenziale des Museums erweitern. In Zusammenarbeit mit allen Projektbeteiligten möchten wir zu einer ökologisch bewussten und gemeinschaftsstiftenden Haltung im Umgang mit Digitalität gelangen.

Das Projekt Dig it? – Prototypen fürs Museum wird entwickelt im Rahmen von „dive in. Programm für digitale Interaktionen“ der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, gefördert durch die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien (BKM) im Programm NEUSTART KULTUR.

Lädt…