There Is Always Dance In Abundance

One of the consequences of our belief in the concept of unlimited growth is the continual depletion of our resources and those of the planet. By clinging on to this idea, we ignore the rights and needs of others and allow discrimination, exclusion and inequality to prevail. While we continue in our striving to produce and own more and more, we lose the ability to think about other forms of co-existence.

Using documentary and speculative means, the film There is Always Dance in Abundance develops an “ecology of the many”, based on the assumption that there are sufficient resources and living space for everyone, if we use them in a respectful way. The protagonists set off on a “journey through time”, exploring existing knowledge and experimenting with new forms of learning. Wearing vision devices and overalls equipped with leaves, feathers and respiratory tubes, they examine their environment, observe animals and plants, analyse the resilience of bodies and materials. They learn to sharpen their senses with the help of various exercises, testing their limits and vulnerability.

They hold discussions with theorists and trade unionists on the historic, current and future significance of work, investigate the emergence of ownership and the struggle for equality and common assets. Solidarity, community and sustainability play a central role in their filmic narrative.

There is Always Dance in Abundance is shown as part of an expansive installation featuring workshops, exchange platforms and discussions.

 

Kindly supported by

As part of the Art Prize Future of Europe. In cooperation with Merz Akademie – University of Applied Art, Design and Media and the Württembergischer Kunstverein Stuttgart. The film “There Is Always Dance In Abundance” was co-produced by the ÜBER:MORGEN Festival of the Cultural Region of Stuttgart. With the kind support of Europas Zukunft gUG, Stiftung Kunstfonds, the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony and the Federal Agency for Civic Education. The Foundation Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig is supported by the Friends of the GfZK Leipzig, the City of Leipzig and the Saxon State Ministry of Science and the Arts. It is partly financed through public funds on the basis of the budget approved by the members of the Landtag of the Free State of Saxony.

Logo_Merz_Akademie_swWürttembergischer KunstvereinStiftung KunstfondsKDFS_Logo+Wappen_2020_RGBWBM2ZG_A_RGB_gefoerdertLogo_FK_GFZKLogo_Stadt LeipzigLogo_Freistaat Sachsen_Saxony
Loading …

There Is Always Dance In Abundance

Der Glaube an unbegrenztes Wachstum trägt dazu bei, dass sich unsere Ressourcen und die des Planeten erschöpfen. Wenn wir daran festhalten, setzen wir uns über Rechte und Bedürfnisse anderer hinweg und produzieren Diskriminierung, Ausschluss und Ungleichheit. Und während wir danach streben, immer mehr zu produzieren und zu besitzen, verlieren wir die Fähigkeit, Zusammenleben anders zu denken.

Mit dokumentarischen und spekulativen Mitteln entwirft der Film There Is Always Dance in Abundance eine „Ökologie der Vielen“, die auf der Annahme basiert, dass genug Lebensraum und Ressourcen für alle da sind, wenn sie respektvoll genutzt werden. Die Protagonist:innen begeben sich auf eine „Zeitreise“, erkunden vorhandenes Wissen und experimentieren mit neuen Formen des Erkenntnisgewinns. Sie tragen Sehgeräte und Overalls, die mit Blättern, Federn und Beatmungsschläuchen ausgestattet sind, und erkunden ihre Umwelt, beobachten Tiere und Pflanzen, die Widerstandsfähigkeit von Körpern und Materialien. In verschiedenen Übungen lernen sie ihre Sinne zu schärfen, ihre Grenzen und Verwundbarkeit zu erforschen.

Im Gespräch mit Theoretiker:innen und Gewerkschafter:innen diskutieren sie den historischen, aktuellen und zukünftigen Stellenwert von Arbeit, beschäftigen sich mit der Entstehung von Eigentum und den Kämpfen für Gleichberechtigung und Gemeingut. In der filmischen Erzählung spielen Verbundenheit, Gemeinschaft und Nachhaltigkeit eine zentrale Rolle.

There Is Always Dance in Abundance wird als Teil einer raumgreifenden Installation präsentiert, in der Workshops, Tauschbörsen und Diskussionen stattfinden.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Im Rahmen des Kunstpreises Europas Zukunft. In Kooperation mit der Merz Akademie – Hochschule für Gestaltung, Kunst und Medien und dem Württembergischen Kunstverein Stuttgart. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Europas Zukunft gUG, der Stiftung Kunstfonds, der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen und der Bundeszentrale für Politische Bildung. Der Film wurde im Rahmen des Festivals ÜBER:MORGEN der KulturRegion Stuttgart co-produziert. Die Stiftung Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig wird durch den Förderkreis der GfZK Leipzig, die Stadt Leipzig und das Sächsische Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst gefördert. Sie wird mitfinanziert durch Steuermittel auf der Grundlage des von den Abgeordneten des Sächsischen Landtages beschlossenen Haushaltes.

Logo_Merz_Akademie_swWürttembergischer KunstvereinStiftung KunstfondsKDFS_Logo+Wappen_2020_RGBWBM2ZG_A_RGB_gefoerdertLogo_FK_GFZKLogo_Stadt LeipzigLogo_Freistaat Sachsen_Saxony
Lädt…