BAUGRUND Concepts for the GfZK garden

Leipzig’s rapidly increasing population brings with it greater social and cultural diversity and in doing so triggers demographic change. Currently on-going publicly and privately financed construction projects in the city are accompanied by the effects of compaction and displacement in the urban space. How do these developments change our view of urban open spaces?

Based on an open call for ideas entitled ‘Utilization Concepts for the GfZK Garden’, which involved architecture students from Aachen, Berlin, Weimar and Zurich, the exhibition deals with institutional perspectives on development as well as with long-term and short-term usage possibilities. The exhibition title refers to the GfZK’s garden as a potential construction site, and at the same time asks which notions of urban life motivate construction projects. In the search for contemporary and sustainable concepts, social and environmental issues play just as important a role as community participation, financing and administration.

Since its founding, the GfZK has realized numerous artistic projects in open public spaces, and dealt extensively with the interrelationship of political, social and urban changes. The archive space of the exhibition BAUGRUND presents selected examples from over the course of the last three decades.

In cooperation with RWTH Aachen University, Berlin University of the Arts, Bauhaus University Weimar, ETH Zurich.

Kindly supported by

W&V Architekten GmbH

W&V_Architekten
Loading …

BAUGRUND: Nutzungskonzepte für den GfZK-Garten

Die stetig und signifikant wachsende Zahl der Leipziger Stadtbewohner*innen bringt neue soziale und kulturelle Vielfalt mit sich und löst demografische Veränderungen aus. Mit den gegenwärtigen öffentlichen und privaten Bauprojekten gehen Effekte von Verdichtung und Verdrängung im städtischen Gefüge einher. Wie verändern diese Entwicklungen den Blick auf städtische Freiräume?

Ausgehend vom Ideenwettbewerb „Nutzungskonzepte für den GfZK-Garten“, an dem Architekturstudent*innen aus Aachen, Berlin, Weimar und Zürich teilnahmen, setzt sich die Ausstellung mit institutionellen Entwicklungsperspektiven sowie mit dauerhaften und temporären Nutzungsmöglichkeiten auseinander. Der Ausstellungstitel verweist auf den Garten der GfZK als einen potentiellen Baugrund und fragt zugleich, welche Vorstellungen von städtischem Leben Bauvorhaben motivieren. Auf der Suche nach zeitgemäßen und nachhaltigen Konzepten spielen soziale und ökologische Fragen eine genauso wichtige Rolle, wie die nach Mitbestimmung, Finanzierung und Verwaltung.

Seit ihrer Gründung hat die GfZK zahlreiche künstlerische Projekte im öffentlichen Raum realisiert und sich mit dem Wechselverhältnis von politischen, gesellschaftlichen und urbanen Veränderungen auseinandergesetzt. Im Archivraum der Ausstellung BAUGRUND werden ausgewählte Beispiele aus den letzten drei Jahrzehnten präsentiert.

In Kooperation mit: Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule Aachen, Universität der Künste Berlin, Bauhaus Universität Weimar, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

W&V Architekten GmbH

W&V_Architekten
Lädt…