Opening: How to Live Together

Christian Nyampeta, A Flower Garden with All Kinds of Loveliness without Sorrow, 2018 ongoing, Filmstill
Christian Nyampeta, A Flower Garden with All Kinds of Loveliness without Sorrow, 2018 ongoing, Filmstill

Christian Nyampeta was the winner of the Art Prize Future of Europe in 2019. This first project led to an in-depth collaboration, resulting in the new production How to Live Together.

In his artistic practice, Nyampeta combines art, design and philosophy, often incorporating questions of postcolonial critique. His works contribute to the central questions: how can we find ways of living together in the modern world? On what are our perceptions of one another based? He finds points of reference for his approach in the exploration of postcolonial worlds, the history of philosophy in Europe and sub-Saharan Africa and the reappraisal of archives and museums in the wake of decolonisation.

In his new production How to Live Together, Nyampeta turns his attention to (post)colonial narratives and fiction from a German perspective. His starting point is intensive research in archives such as the Archive of the Missionaries of Africa – White Fathers in Cologne, the Special African Collection at the Goethe University in Frankfurt and the Geographical Archive at the Leibniz Institute for Regional Geography in Leipzig. Special emphasis is placed on the estate of Hans Meyer, one of the most famous explorers of Rwanda during the colonial period in Germany.

Starting out from an overall view of the conditions and possibilities of living together, Nyampeta is interested in what shapes our thinking, how we encounter one another as individuals or in groups, and what we can learn from one other. Part of the exhibition therefore consists of a collectively organised programme of events – an École du Soir – to which Nyampeta invites artists and theoreticians. The École du Soir includes workshops, discussions, film screenings and presentations.

More information

Loading …

Eröffnung: How to Live Together

Christian Nyampeta, A Flower Garden with All Kinds of Loveliness without Sorrow, 2018 ongoing, Filmstill
Christian Nyampeta, A Flower Garden with All Kinds of Loveliness without Sorrow, 2018 ongoing, Filmstill

Im letzten Jahr erhielt Christian Nyampeta den Kunstpreis Europas Zukunft. Aus dieser ersten Kooperation entstand eine vertiefende Zusammenarbeit, aus der sich die Neuproduktion How to Live Together ergibt.
Nyampeta verbindet in seiner künstlerischen Praxis Kunst, Design und Philosophie, häufig unter Fragestellungen der postkolonialen Kritik. Seine Arbeiten sind Beiträge zu den zentralen Fragen: Wie lassen sich Wege des guten Zusammenlebens heute finden? Und worauf basieren unsere Wahrnehmungen voneinander? Anknüpfungspunkte hierfür findet er im Erforschen postkolonialer Lebenswelten, der Geschichte der Philosophie in Europa und im subsaharischen Afrika, sowie in der dekolonisierenden Aufarbeitung von Archiven und Museen.
In seiner Neuproduktion How to Live Together widmet sich Nyampeta (post)kolonialen Erzählungen und Fiktionen aus einer deutschen Perspektive heraus. Ausgangspunkt ist die intensive Recherche in Archiven, wie etwa dem Archiv der Afrikamissionare, Weisse Väter in Köln, der Spezialsammlung Afrika an der Goethe-Universität in Frankfurt sowie dem Archiv für Geografie des Leibniz-Instituts für Länderkunde in Leipzig. Ein Schwerpunkt des Materials ist der Nachlass Hans Meyers, einer der bekanntesten Forschungsreisenden Ruandas in der Kolonialzeit Deutschlands.
Ausgehend von der übergeordneten Betrachtung der Bedingungen und Möglichkeiten des Zusammenlebens interessiert Nyampeta, was unser Denken prägt, wie wir uns als Individuen oder Gruppen begegnen und was wir voneinander lernen können. Teil der Ausstellung ist daher auch ein kollektiv gestaltetes Veranstaltungsprogramm – eine École du Soir –, zu dem Nyampeta Künstler*innen und Theoretiker*innen einlädt. Die École du Soir beinhaltet Workshops, Gespräche, Filmvorführungen und Präsentationen.
Gefördert durch die Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung.

Weiterführende Beiträge

Lädt…