The Broken Pitcher

The focal point of the project The Broken Pitcher is an event that occurred in Cyprus in 2019: a meeting took place at a bank in Larnaca to negotiate the foreclosure sale of a family home. Foreclosures are one of the austerity measures that were imposed on the Cypriot government by the troika of representatives from the EU Commission, the European Central Bank and the International Monetary Fund after the financial crisis in 2012.

For The Broken Pitcher, the meeting room was reconstructed and furnished by artists. Based on the memory protocols of the family involved and their lawyer, the situation in the bank was re-enacted by actors and filmed. The scene ends with the question: Ιn your opinion, what should the bank employees do? In the second part of the film, we see the different ways in which people react to this question. Their answers reflect the perspectives of various interest groups in Cyprus – housing rights activists in Barcelona, Berlin and Beirut, people who have experienced similar situations, lawyers, economists and artists.

The project The Broken Pitcher relies on collaboration. It addresses the question of how the financial system works and whether it is possible to intervene in its processes and change them. The exhibition in Leipzig presents the walk-in spatial installation, the film, video interviews, photos and research material.

In collaboration with the artist-run space Thkio Ppalies, Nicosia, Haus der Kulturen der Welt Berlin, Lenbachhaus Munich and Beirut Art Center.

PP Logohkw_logo_black_l_35mm-170pxLenbachhausBeirut Art center Logo Final-Transparent

Kindly supported by

With the kind support of the Cyprus Deputy Ministry of Culture, the German Federal Cultural Foundation, the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony and ifa (Institute of Foreign Affairs). The Foundation Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig is supported by the Friends of the GfZK Leipzig, the City of Leipzig and the Saxon State Ministry of Science and the Arts. It is partly financed through public funds on the basis of the budget approved by the members of the Landtag of the Free State of Saxony.

 

Logo_Deputy Ministry of Culture CyprusKulturstiftung des BundesLogo Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsenifa-logo-langLogo_Freistaat Sachsen_SaxonyLogo_Stadt Leipzig
Loading …

The Broken Pitcher

Dreh- und Angelpunkt des Projekts The Broken Pitcher ist ein Ereignis in Zypern 2019: In einer Bankfiliale in Larnaka wird über die Zwangsvollstreckung eines Einfamilienhauses verhandelt. Zwangsvollstreckungen sind eine der Maßnahmen, welche die Troika aus Vertretern der EU-Kommission, der Europäischen Zentralbank und des Internationalen Währungsfonds der zyprischen Regierung in der Wirtschaftskrise ab 2012 verordneten.

Für The Broken Pitcher wurde der Besprechungsraum nachgebaut und von Künstler:innen ausgestattet. Anhand von Gedächtnisprotokollen der betroffenen Familie und ihres Rechtsanwalts wurde die Situation in der Bank mit Schauspieler:innen nachgestellt und gefilmt. Die Szene endet mit der Frage: Was sollten die Bankangestellten Ihrer Meinung nach tun? Im zweiten Teil des Films sieht man, wie verschiedene Personen auf diese Frage reagieren. Ihre Antworten spiegeln die Perspektiven verschiedener Interessengruppen in Zypern, von Mietaktivist:innen in Barcelona, Berlin und Beirut, von Menschen, die Ähnliches erlebt haben sowie von Anwält:innen, Ökonom:innen und Künstler:innen.

Das Projekt The Broken Pitcher setzt auf Zusammenarbeit. Es verhandelt die Frage, wie das Finanzsystem funktioniert und wie man in dessen Abläufe eingreifen und diese verändern könnte. In der Leipziger Ausstellung werden die begehbare Rauminstallation, der Film, Videointerviews und Recherchematerial präsentiert.

 

In Kooperation mit dem Kunstraum Thkio Ppalies, Nikosia, dem Haus der Kulturen der Welt Berlin, dem Lenbachhaus München und dem Beirut Art Center.

PP Logohkw_logo_black_l_35mm-170pxLenbachhausBeirut Art center Logo Final-Transparent

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Ministeriums für Bildung, Kultur, Sport und Jugend, Zypern, der Kulturstiftung des Bundes, der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen und des ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen). Die Stiftung Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig wird durch den Förderkreis der GfZK Leipzig, die Stadt Leipzig und das Sächsische Staatsministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst gefördert. Sie wird mitfinanziert durch Steuermittel auf der Grundlage des von den Abgeordneten des Sächsischen Landtages beschlossenen Haushaltes.

Logo_Deputy Ministry of Culture CyprusKulturstiftung des BundesLogo Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsenifa-logo-langLogo_Freistaat Sachsen_SaxonyLogo_Stadt Leipzig
Lädt…