Matthias Hoch: Hotel Kobenzl. Projection

The photographer Matthias Hoch from Leipzig worked at the Hotel Kobenzl in Salzburg for over two years. The resulting series of photographs is shown as a double projection with various archive materials, advertising brochures, pictures from the hotelier’s family album and reports from the local press. The order in which these elements are presented clearly indicates how the concepts of homeland, landscape and hospitality are interlinked with those of celebrity, exclusivity and luxury. This has constantly shaped not only the rooms of the hotel, but also the demeanour of the hosts and guests. The hotel building stood empty for a long period of time, and its history took a new turn when it was converted into a reception centre for refugees.

To accompany the exhibitions in Leipzig and Salzburg, the publication Matthias Hoch: Hotel Kobenzl, with texts by Andreas Maier, will be published by FOTOHOF in October 2016. Design: Kay Bachmann. Price: 35 euro.

Matthias Hoch: Hotel Kobenzl, edition 5 + 1 artist’s copy consists of 8 colour photographs (archival pigment prints), published by FOTOHOF Salzburg available for the duration of the exhibition at the GfZK.

Kindly supported by

The exhibition is shown in collaboration with FOTOHOF Salzburg. Kindly supported by Jochen Hempel Gallery, Leipzig/Berlin.

FOTOHOF
Loading …

Matthias Hoch: Hotel Kobenzl. Projektion

Der Leipziger Fotograf Matthias Hoch hat über zwei Jahre im Salzburger Hotel Kobenzl gearbeitet. Seine dort entstandene Fotoserie wird als Doppelprojektion gemeinsam mit unterschiedlichen Archivmaterialien, Werbebroschüren, Bildern aus dem Familienalbum der Hoteliers und Berichten aus der Lokalpresse gezeigt. In der Abfolge und Gegenüberstellung der Bilder wird deutlich, wie sich die Vorstellungen von Heimat, Landschaft und Gastfreundschaft mit jenen von Prominenz, Exklusivität und Luxus verschränken und dabei nicht nur die Räume des Hotels, sondern auch das Auftreten von Gastgebern und Gästen immer wieder überformt haben. Eine besondere Wendung in der Geschichte des lange Zeit leerstehenden Hotels markiert seine Umwandlung in ein Erstaufnahmelager für Flüchtlinge.

Anlässlich der Ausstellungen in Leipzig und Salzburg erscheint im November 2016 die Publikation Matthias Hoch: Hotel Kobenzl in der FOTOHOF Edition mit Texten von Andreas Maier. Gestaltung: Kay Bachmann. Verkaufspreis: 33 Euro.

Die vom Fotohof Salzburg herausgegebene Edition Matthias Hoch: Hotel Kobenzl, Auflage 5 + 1 Künstlerexemplar besteht aus 8 Farbfotografien (Archival Pigment Prints) und ist während der Ausstellung in der GfZK erhältlich.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation mit dem FOTOHOF Salzburg und wird mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Galerie Jochen Hempel, Leipzig/Berlin realisiert.

FOTOHOF
Lädt…