International Village Show – Vechte and Schelde

The three Myvillages artists Wapke Feenstra (Rotterdam), Kathrin Böhm (London) and Antje Schiffers (Berlin) present the sixth in the eight-part series International Village Show (IVS). The ongoing projects of these artists, developed in various rural regions, are shown at the GfZK garden house over a period of two years.

Their work focusses on the rural environment, rural villages and phenomena and special cultural production in the countryside. The artists, who themselves grew up in rural areas, turn their attention to the concept of culture in places around the world where it has a different meaning to e.g. in cities. Their workshops, discussions, productions and collaborations are long-term projects that influence existing processes, generate attention and encourage new thoughts and action.

Vechte and Schelde – The title of the second show contains the names of two rivers, representing two projects:

In the Belgian village of Vlassenbroek on the River Schelde, Wapke Feenstra organised lessons in nature and landscape drawing for experts and amateurs. The lessons focussed on the changing landscape around the river. In anticipation of rising sea levels, a large flood area is being built around the Schelde. A landscape that was already man-made must be changed again. The drawing project observes these changes meticulously, with a keen eye for detail. Vlassenbroek is a former artists’ village that specialised in plein-air drawing, and the project carries on from this tradition. At the end of the course, Wapke Feenstra and the participants produced a book containing a large number of drawings.

The other project is concerned with Vechtewaren, which is more or less a subsidiary of the International Village Shop on the border between the Netherlands and Germany. At present, the goods on sale at Vechtewaren consist of linen covered books in F6 format, anthropogenic black soil in 8 litre packs, developed in cooperation with the works depot of the town of Nordhorn, and “Confectie Boxes”. The latter are seed mixtures for specific soil conditions: Sunny Box, Shadow Box, Acid Box, Chalky Box and Bee Box, developed by Antje Schiffers and the employees and volunteers at Tuinen Mien Ruys, a garden in Dedemsvaart. Mien Ruys was a famous garden architect from the Netherlands. Her horticultural achievements can be seen in the grounds of the IVS, e.g. the flowerbed in the railway sleepers and the gravel tiles.

Both new products are accompanied by short films.

Drawing lessons under professional supervision are held every Sunday from 4 to 6 pm in the garden house.

Text and Downloads

Kindly supported by

kunstwegen-raumsichtenBGL-FONDS-logo_FCIKEA StiftungLOGOGartenprogramm
Loading …

International Village Show 6/8 – Vechte und Schelde

Im Gartenhaus der Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst ist der sechste von insgesamt acht Teilen der  International Village Show  (IVS) der drei Myvillages Künstlerinnen zu sehen. Für zwei Jahre zeigen sie in der GfZK ihre fortlaufenden Projekte, die in unterschiedlichen ländlichen Regionen entstehen.

Den Fokus ihrer Auseinandersetzung bilden der ländliche Raum, Dörfer und Phänomene vom Land und das Befragen einer speziell ländlichen kulturellen Produktion. Selbst auf dem Lande aufgewachsen, widmen sich die Künstlerinnen internationalen Orten, an denen Kultur noch eine andere Bedeutung erfahren kann, als es beispielsweise in Städten der Fall ist. Ihre Workshops, Auseinandersetzungen, Produktionen und Kooperationen bestehen langfristig, sie wirken in vorhandene Prozesse ein und erzeugen Aufmerksamkeit, Umdenken und Handeln.

Vechte und Schelde – Hinter dem Titel der zweiten Show verbergen sich zwei Flussnamen, hinter den Flussnamen zwei Projekte:

Im belgischen Vlassenbroek an der Schelde organisierte Wapke Feenstra Unterricht im Landschafts-und Naturzeichnen für Profis und Laien. Grundlage dafür war die sich verändernde Landschaft rund um den Fluss. In weiser Voraussicht auf steigende Meeresspiegel muss der Schelde ein größeres Überschwemmungsgebiet gebaut werden. Eine bereits menschengemachte Landschaft muss abermals verändert werden. Das Zeichenprojekt geht diesen Veränderungen auf den Grund und präzisiert den Blick fürs Detail. Vlassenbroek war früher ein Künstlerdorf mit einer Tradition im Plein-Air-Zeichnen. Daran knüpft das Projekt an. Zum Abschluss hat Wapke Feenstra zusammen mit den Teilnehmer*innen ein Buch mit vielen Zeichnungen entwickelt.

Das andere Projekt sind die Vechtewaren, quasi eine Filiale des International Village Shop an der niederländisch-deutschen Grenze. Zu den Vechtewaren gehören derzeit ein Leinenbuch, Esch F6, eine anthropogene Schwarzerde, entwickelt mit dem Baubetriebshof der Stadt Nordhorn, abgepackt in 8 Liter-Säcken und die Confectie Boxes, Saatgutzusammenstellungen für spezifische Bodenbegebenheiten: Sunny Box, Shadow Box, Acid Box, Chalky Box und Bee Box, entwickelt von Antje Schiffers mit den Mitarbeiter*innen und Freiwilligen vom Tuinen Mien Ruys, einem Garten in Dedemsvaart. Mien Ruys war eine berühmte niederländische Gartenarchitektin, deren Errungenschaften für den Gartenbau auch im Außenraum der IVS zu sehen sind, wie z.B. das Blumenbeet im Bahnschwellenbett und die sehr verbreiteten Kiesfliesen.

Zu beiden neuen Produkten gibt es kurze Filme.

Sonntags findet regelmäßig zwischen 16 und 18 Uhr Zeichenunterricht am Gartenhaus unter professioneller Anleitung statt. 

Texte und Downloads

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

kunstwegen-raumsichtenBGL-FONDS-logo_FCIKEA StiftungLOGOGartenprogramm
Lädt…