Karin Sander: ZEIGEN. An audio tour through the collection of the GfZK Leipzig

For her project ZEIGEN. An audio tour, Karin Sander invited artists whose work is featured in the collection of the Museum of Contemporary Art Leipzig (GfZK) to make an acoustic contribution, with the aim of translating their own work into something audible – and also visible – for the museum‘s visitors. The names of the approximately 150 participating artists are installed on the white walls of the otherwise “empty” exhibition space, along with a number, allowing visitors to select individual contributions using an audio guide. The works, imagined in various ways, arise inside the heads of the visitors, gaining an enormous presence in spite of their physical absence.

Karin Sander‘s exhibition project ZEIGEN. An audio tour, which she initiated in 2004, is based on an audible collection of works compiled by the artist for individual locations. It has been shown in various museums and institutions including Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, Temporäre Kunsthalle Berlin, Abteiberg Museum Mönchengladbach, Nikolai Konsthall Copenhagen and Kunsthalle Karlsruhe.

Karin Sander, born in Bensberg, Germany, studied Fine Art and Art History at the Art Academy Stuttgart and I.S.P., Whitney Museum, New York.
She received numerous grants and awards, to include a DAAD scholarship New York, Kunstfonds Bonn, The Villa Romana Prize, Florence, Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris, Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart, Hans-Thoma-Preis, Großer Staatspreis des Landes Baden-Württemberg as well as Deutsche Akademie Rom Villa Massimo.

Her works have been shown in numerous international exhibitions and are included in private and public art collections, such as The Museum of Modern Art, New York and San Francisco, The Metropolitain Museum of Art, New York, National Museum of Art, Osaka, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, Staatsgalerie and Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, and Hirshhorn Museum Washington.

Karin Sander holds a professorship for Architecture and Art at ETH Zurich. She lives and works in Berlin and Zurich.

Karin Sander presents ZEIGEN. An audio tour through the collection of the GfZK Leipzig.

 

More information

Kindly supported by

Kulturstiftung SachsenStiftung Kunstfonds

Loading …

Karin Sander: ZEIGEN. Eine Audiotour durch die Sammlung der GfZK Leipzig

Karin Sander hat für ihr Projekt ZEIGEN. Eine Audiotour Künstler*innen, die mit ihrem Werk in der Sammlung der GfZK vertreten sind, eingeladen, einen akustischen Beitrag zu erstellen, der ihre künstlerische Arbeitsweise hörbar und darüber hinaus für die Besucher*innen „sichtbar“ macht. Die Namen der ca.150 beteiligten Künstler*innen stehen zusammen mit jeweils einer Kennzahl auf der weißen Wand des ansonsten „leeren“ Ausstellungsraums und so können die Besucher*innen die einzelnen Beiträge über einen Audioguide abrufen. Die Werke entstehen in den Köpfen der Betrachter*innen, werden in vielfältiger Weise imaginiert und erlangen so, trotz ihrer physischen Abwesenheit, enorme Präsenz.

Zeitgleich ist die umfassende, wechselnde Präsentation der Museumsbestände in der Ausstellungsserie The Present Order in der GfZK zu sehen.

Das Ausstellungsprojekt ZEIGEN. Eine Audiotour von Karin Sander basiert auf einer seit 2004 von der Künstlerin speziell für einen jeweiligen Ort zusammen getragenen, hörbaren Werksammlung, welche in verschiedenen Museen und Institutionen gezeigt wurde, u.a. in der Schirn Kunsthalle Frankfurt, der Temporären Kunsthalle Berlin, im Museum Abteiberg Mönchengladbach, in der Nikolai Konsthall Kopenhagen und in der Kunsthalle Karlsruhe.

Karin Sander, geboren in Bensberg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, studierte Freie Kunst und Kunstgeschichte an der Kunstakademie Stuttgart und am I.S.P., Whitney Museum, New York.
Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen wie das DAAD Stipendium New York, Kunstfonds Bonn, Villa Romana Preis, Florenz, Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris, Akademie Schloss Solitude, Stuttgart, Hans-Thoma-Preis, Großer Staatspreis des Landes Baden-Württemberg und den Preis der Deutschen Akademie Rom Villa Massimo.
Ihre Arbeiten sind in zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen vertreten und befinden sich in Sammlungen wie The Museum of Modern Art, New York und San Francisco, The Metropolitain Museum of Art, New York, National Museum of Art, Osaka, Staatsgalerie Stuttgart und Hirshhorn Museum Washington.

Karin Sander ist Professorin für Architektur und Kunst an der ETH Zürich. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Zürich.

Weiterführende Beiträge

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Kulturstiftung SachsenStiftung Kunstfonds

Lädt…