I’LL BE YOUR MIRROR. Screen Tests by Andy Warhol

Throughout his life, Andy Warhol was fascinated by people. He made sound recordings of dialogues and conducted interviews, he painted, photographed and filmed the people around him. He was equally as interested in iconic and glamorous aspects of the human being as in the elusive, the intimate.
The exhibition I’ll Be Your Mirror shows a selection of the 472 Screentests he produced between 1964 and 1966. These cinematic portraits show film stars, artists, authors, poets, well-known and forgotten personalities connected with Warhol’s studio, the Silver Factory. They make up a fascinating collection of various facial expressions and body language that are a reflection of Warhol himself; he adopted them in an attempt to come closer to his ideal self.
The 25 selected Screentests are presented in a scenographic sequence that expresses architectonic qualities such as transparency and mirroring. Various zones emerge, related to visual connections, interaction and a possible change in existing perceptual patterns. The appearance and soundtrack of the exhibition and the accompanying programme examine the relationship between subject, image and identity, inviting visitors to reflect upon forms of staging oneself and being staged by others.

In collaboration with the Warhol Museum Pittsburgh, USA

Kindly supported by

Kulturstiftung des Freistaates SachsenBMW

Loading …

I’LL BE YOUR MIRROR. Screen Tests von Andy Warhol

Menschen haben Andy Warhol zeitlebens fasziniert. Er machte Tonaufnahmen von Gesprächen, führte Interviews, er malte, fotografierte und filmte Menschen in seiner Umgebung. Das Ikonenhafte und das Glamouröse interessierten ihn dabei genauso, wie das Flüchtige und das Intime.
Die Ausstellung I’ll Be Your Mirror zeigt eine Auswahl aus den 472 Screentests, die zwischen 1964 und 1966 entstanden sind. In diesen filmischen Porträts erscheinen Filmstars, Künstler_innen, Autor_innen, Poet_innen, bekannte und vergessene Persönlichkeiten aus dem Umfeld von Warhols Studio, der Silver Factory. Sie bilden eine faszinierende Sammlung an Spielarten von Mimik und Körpersprache, in denen sich Warhol selbst spiegelte und die er sich aneignete, auch, um seinem idealen Ich näher zu kommen.
Die 25 ausgewählten Screentests werden in einer szenografischen Folge präsentiert, die architektonische Qualitäten wie Transparenz und Spiegelung aufgreift. Dabei entstehen unterschiedliche Zonen, in denen es um Blickbeziehungen, Interaktion und um die mögliche Veränderung bestehender Wahrnehmungsmuster geht. Das Erscheinungsbild, die Tonspur und das Rahmenprogramm zur Ausstellung beleuchten das Verhältnis von Subjekt, Bild und Identität und laden zur Beschäftigung mit Formen der Selbst- und Fremdinszenierung ein.

In Kooperation mit dem Warhol Museum Pittsburgh, USA

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Kulturstiftung des Freistaates SachsenBMW

Lädt…