Jota Mombaça: Voices, Voices…Inexplicable Machinery!

Voices, Voices…Inexplicable Machinery –Jota Mombaça‘s sound performance was performed on 10.9.2022 in Clara Zetkin Park and was dedicated to voices that have been extinguished or silenced. The exhibition in the showcase of the New Building of the GfZK includes six drawings that were created as sketches for the performance, a spatial intervention, and the sound recording of the performance.

The sound performance took place at the site where, at the Saxon-Thuringian Industrial and Commercial Exhibition in 1897, black people were put on display in the reconstruction of a colonial setting. The energy and sounds of the performance space are intertwined with compositions and narratives that commemorate the oppressed, crossing temporal and spatial boundaries. Listening together is understood as an exercise that broadens the scope of historical transmission and future perspectives.

Voices, Voices…Inexplicable Machinery was created in collaboration with Brazilian sonic producer and researcher Anti Ribeiro. The performance also includes a program of readings by contributing authors Leda Maria Martins, Tania Kolbe, Rajyashri Goody, and Ola Hassanain.

The accompanying publication, designed by Anja Kaiser, is available at the GfZK-Shop during the exhibition.

Kindly supported by

As part of the Art Prize Future of Europe. With the kind support of Europas Zukunft gUG, and the City of Leipzig, as part of the yearly programme „STIGA 1897“

Logo_Stadt LeipzigStiga_logo
Loading …

Jota Mombaça: Voices, Voices…Inexplicable Machinery!

Voices, Voices…Inexplicable Machinery –  die Klangperformance von Jota Mombaça wurde am 10.9.2022 im Clara-Zetkin-Park aufgeführt und war den ausgelöschten oder zum Schweigen gebrachten Stimmen gewidmet. Die gleichnamige Ausstellung im Schaufenster des GfZK-Neubaus umfasst sechs Zeichnungen, die als Skizze für die Performance entstanden sind, eine räumliche Intervention sowie die Soundaufnahme der Aufführung.

Die Klangperformance fand an dem Ort statt, wo 1897 im Rahmen der Sächsisch-Thüringischen Industrie- und Gewerbeausstellung Schwarze Menschen in einer nachgebauten kolonialen Umgebung zur Schau gestellt wurden.  Die Energie und die Klänge des Aufführungsortes wurden mit Kompositionen und Erzählungen verwoben, um über zeitliche oder räumliche Grenzen hinweg den Unterdrückten zu gedenken. Das gemeinsame Zuhören wurde dabei als eine Übung verstanden, mit der man historische Überlieferung und zukünftige Perspektiven erweitern kann.

Voices, Voices…Inexplicable Machinery ist in Zusammenarbeit mit dem brasilianischen Klangproduzenten und -forscher Anti Ribeiro entstanden. Die Aufführung umfasste auch Lesungen der von Leda Maria Martins, Tania Kolbe, Rajyashri Goody und Ola Hassanain.

Die Begleitpublikation, gestaltet von Anja Kaiser, ist während der Ausstellung im GfZK-Shop erhältlich.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Im Rahmen des Kunstpreises Europas Zukunft. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Europas Zukunft gUG und der Stadt Leipzig, im Rahmen des Themenjahres „STIGA 1897“

Logo_Stadt LeipzigStiga_logo
Lädt…