Sung Tieu: Not Yet Titled (AT)

For his final project, scholarship fellow of the Cultural Foundation of the Free State of Saxony (Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen) 2020/21 Tuan Do Duc, will work with the artist Sung Tieu on developing a newly conceived solo exhibition for GfZK Leipzig.

Tieu’s artistic practice spans a wide range of media, including installation, sound, video, sculpture, photography, performance, and public interventions. Often based on historical and political studies, her work investigates questions surrounding national and transnational historiography, and within it movement of both, people and objects. In this context she analyzes their political, bureaucratic and social power relations as well as their historical preconditions. Last but not least, subjects such as displacement and its psychological effects are at the center of her work.

Information about the artist

Sung Tieu was born in 1987, in Hai Duong, Vietnam. She studied Fine Art at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg, at Goldsmiths College, London, and at the Royal Academy of Arts in London. This year she was awarded the Ars Viva 2021. She is also the recipient of the prize AUSGEZEICHNET of the Stiftung Kunstfonds and will be honoured with a solo exhibition at the Kunstmuseum Bonn in October 2021. Further group exhibitions planned for 2021 include: Ars Viva 2021 at the Kunstverein Hannover, INFORMATION (Today) at the Kunsthalle Basel and Though It’s Dark, I Still Sing, at the 34th São Paulo Biennale in Brazil. In 2020 she had solo exhibitions at Haus der Kunst in Munich, Nottingham Contemporary, UK and Galerie Emalin in London, UK.

Her first catalog, Oath Against Minimalism, with a comprehensive documentation of her multi-layered work was published by Spector Books (Leipzig) this year.

Loading …

Sung Tieu: Not Yet Titled (AT)

Für sein Abschlussprojekt wird Tuan Do Duc, Stipendiat der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen 2020/21, mit der Künstlerin Sung Tieu zusammenarbeiten und mit ihr eine für die GfZK Leipzig produzierte Einzelausstellung entwickeln.

Die künstlerische Praxis von Tieu umfasst eine Vielzahl von Medien, darunter Installation, Sound, Video, Skulptur, Fotografie, Performance und öffentliche Interventionen. Häufig von historisch-politischen Studien ausgehend setzt sie sich in ihren Arbeiten sowohl mit Fragen der nationalen, als auch der transnationalen Geschichtsschreibung und in diesem Zusammenhang mit der Bewegung von Bevölkerungsgruppen sowie Objekten auseinander. Dabei analysiert sie die politischen, bürokratischen und gesellschaftlichen Machtverhältnisse sowie deren geschichtliche Voraussetzungen. Nicht zuletzt befasst sie sich in ihrem Werk mit dem Leben in der Diaspora und den damit einhergehenden psychologischen Auswirkungen.

Information zur Künstlerin

Sung Tieu wurde 1987 in Hai Duong, Vietnam, geboren. Sie studierte Kunst an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg, am Goldsmiths College, London und an der Royal Academy of Arts in London. Sie erhielt den Ars Viva Preis 2021. Ebenso ist sie Preisträgerin des Ausstellungsformats AUSGEZEICHNET der Stiftung Kunstfonds und wird mit einer Einzelausstellung im Kunstmuseum Bonn geehrt. Geplante Gruppenausstellungen im Jahr 2021 sind unter anderem: Ars Viva 2021 im Kunstverein Hannover, INFORMATION (Today) in der Kunsthalle Basel sowie Though It’s Dark, I Still Sing auf der 34. São Paulo Biennale in Brasilien. 2020 fanden Einzelausstellungen der Künstlerin im Haus der Kunst in München, in der Nottingham Contemporary, UK sowie in der Galerie Emalin in London, UK statt.

Ihr erster Katalog Oath Against Minimalism mit einer umfassenden Dokumentation ihres vielschichtigen Werks erschien 2020 bei Spector Books (Leipzig).

Lädt…