ars viva 2016

Networking and connectivity have a greater influence on social contacts than ever before. In the competition for attention, an abundance of information on individuals, events or products flows through countless channels. During this process, images as smooth as glass arise; behind their façade, all issues of an insecure, sensitive or awkward nature remain hidden. The omnipresence of the media creates empty spaces: identities without substance, connection without connectedness.

The exhibition by Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff, Flaka Haliti and Hanne Lippard observes what effect the formatting of the self and the continual adaptation of forms of appearance and behaviour has on personal and professional relationships. In an impressively objective, poetic and humorous way, the artists examine their own roles within their social, discursive and urban environment. Introducing displacements at the interface between subjectivity and projection, they discuss questions of representation, isolation and proximity, capitulation and resilience. Their biographies provide important points of reference, without becoming the actual subject of the works.

Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff’s photographs and objects refer back to the New Theater in Berlin, of which they were the initiators. In a similar way to the Times Bar before it, the New Theater was a temporary institution where the possibilities of community and interaction could be explored. The series of photographs dealing with Airbnb and startup enterprises are concerned with completely different forms of access and network. They reflect on the question of how the idea of mobility and creativity becomes inscribed in working and living environments, how it manifests itself in the self-conception of the individual and in the urban landscape.

In the work of Flaka Haliti, the idea of belonging takes on an additional meaning. In her installations she deals with the boundaries that separate states and people. They can be politically defined and under military surveillance, or run along private and social relationships, being constantly redrawn in an almost imperceptible way. Her interest is directed equally towards processes of migration and the status of the artist. Whilst addressing the conflict of freedom and constraint, recognition and endurance, she also reveals the complicated relationship between longing, expectations and misunderstandings in human relationships.

Hanne Lippard also investigates the influence of communications media on how people experience one another, what they communicate to each other, and how meaning can be created or lost in the process. In her performances, video and sound installations, the most important form of expression is her voice. She works with repetition and differentiation, consonance and variation, thereby creating a resonance chamber that transforms the cumulation of rythmically arranged syllables and words into a kind of mechanical voice. The free flow of sounds, sense and nonsense, form the cornerstones within which the artist moves as an individual and as a public figure.

Since 1953, the ars viva prize for visual arts has been awarded to young artists on an annual basis by the Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e. V. (Cultural Committee of German Business of the Federation of German Industries).  It is presented at the Museum of Contemporary Art Leipzig (GfZK) for the second time. The large exhibition of works ars viva 2016 shows central works by this year’s prizewinners Flaka Haliti, Hanne Lippard, Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff.

 

 

 

 

Kindly supported by

Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V.
Loading …

ars viva 2016

Vernetzung und Anschlussfähigkeit prägen soziale Kontakte wie nie zuvor. Das Streben nach Aufmerksamkeit lässt Informationen über Personen, Ereignisse oder Produkte durch unzählige Kanäle strömen. Dabei entstehen mitunter spiegelglatte Images, hinter deren Schauseite all das verborgen bleibt, was unsicher, heikel und verfänglich ist. In der medialen Allgegenwart bilden sich Leerstellen heraus: Identitäten ohne Substanz, Verbindungen ohne Verbundenheit.
Wie sich die Formatierungen des Ichs und die fortlaufende Anpassung von Erscheinungs- und Umgangsformen auf persönliche und professionelle Beziehungen auswirken, wird in der Ausstellung von Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff, Flaka Haliti und Hanne Lippard verhandelt. Beeindruckend sachlich, poetisch und humorvoll setzen sich die Künstler*innen mit ihrer Rolle in ihrem sozialen, diskursiven und urbanen Umfeld auseinander. An der Schnittstelle von Subjektivität und Projektion nehmen sie Verschiebungen vor, um Fragen von Repräsentation, von Isolation und Nähe, Kapitulation und Widerständigkeit zu erörtern. Ihre Biografien bieten dabei wichtige Bezugspunkte, ohne jedoch zum eigentlichen Gegenstand der Arbeiten zu werden.

Die Fotografien und Objekte von Calla Henkel und Max Pitegoff gehen auf das von ihnen initiierte New Theater in Berlin zurück. Ähnlich wie schon die Times Bar zuvor, war auch das New Theater eine temporäre Institution, in der Möglichkeiten von Gemeinschaft und Interaktion erprobt wurden. Um ganz andere Formen des Zugangs und der Verschaltung geht es in den Fotoserien, die sich mit airbnb und Startup-Unternehmen beschäftigen. In ihnen spiegelt sich die Frage wider, wie sich die Vorstellung von Mobilität und Kreativität in Arbeits- und Lebensräume einschreibt, im Selbstverständnis und im Stadtbild manifestiert.

Bei Flaka Haliti bekommt Zugehörigkeit eine weitere Bedeutung. In ihren Installationen setzt sie sich mit Grenzen auseinander, die Staaten und Menschen voneinander trennen, die politisch gesetzt und militärisch bewacht sein können oder aber entlang von privaten und sozialen Beziehungen verlaufen und kaum merklich immer wieder neu gezogen werden. Ihr Interesse richtet sich gleichermaßen auf Prozesse der Migration und auf den Status der Künstlerin, des Künstlers. Während sie den Konflikt von Freiheit und Einschränkung, Anerkennung und Erduldung thematisiert, legt sie auch das komplizierte Verhältnis von Sehnsucht, Erwartung und Missverständnis in zwischenmenschlichen Relationen offen.

Der Einfluss von Kommunikationsmedien darauf, wie Menschen einander erleben, was sie einander mitteilen, welche Bedeutung dabei entsteht und verloren geht, beschäftigt auch Hanne Lippard. In ihren Performances, Video- und Soundinstallationen ist ihre Stimme das wichtigste Ausdrucksmittel. Sie arbeitet mit Wiederholung und Differenz, Gleichklang und Variation und erzeugt dabei einen Resonanzraum, der die angehäuften, rhythmisch angeordneten Silben und Wörter in eine Art mechanische Stimme umwandelt. Der freie Fluss von Klängen, Sinn und Widersinn markieren die Eckpunkte, zwischen denen sich die Künstlerin als Person und öffentliche Figur bewegt.

Der ars viva-Preis für Bildende Kunst wird vom Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e. V. seit 1953 jährlich an Nachwuchskünstler vergeben. Er wird nunmehr zum zweiten Mal in der Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig (GfZK) präsentiert. In der großen Werkschau ars viva 2016 werden zentrale Arbeiten der diesjährigen Preisträger Flaka Haliti, Hanne Lippard, Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff gezeigt.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft im BDI e.V.
Lädt…