Freundschaftsantiqua

Foreign students at the Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig – an international chapter of art in the GDR

On the occasion of the 250th anniversary of the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst /Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig, the exhibition “Freundschaftsantiqua” presents a collection of special material to the public for the first time.

Since the beginning of the 1950s, a large number of people from other countries came to  the GDR, not only as members of the workforce but also as students at the universities and academies. Most of them were from developing African or Asian countries, or from other Socialist states in Europe. A large number of foreign students came to study at the Academy of Visual Arts in Leipzig, where their dissertations and student research projects are stored in the archives. This material comprises whole works and groups of works, some of which  belong to the photographic collections. This body of work is largely unknown, and has been the subject of very little research up to the present day.

In general, internationality in art, cultural policy and cultural exchange in the GDR has rarely been a central theme of scientific and artistic studies. In this way, the exhibition breaks new ground. This first step towards the processing and visualisation of the HGB material reveals new facets of the image of GDR art and art history from a critical point of view.

Christiane Eisler und Rozbeh Asmani produce new artistic works for the exhibition. Additional art mediation projects, the accompanying programme and publications all aim to deepen our knowledge and understanding of certain aspects of the life and work of these temporary citizens of the GDR, linked with current social discourse on education and interculturality.

Text and Downloads

Kindly supported by

Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung LeipzigStiftung Kunstfonds

In Cooperation with

logo HGB
Loading …

Freundschaftsantiqua

Ausländische Studierende an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig – ein internationales Kapitel der Kunst in der DDR

Anlässlich des 250. Jubiläums der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig/Academy of Visual Arts präsentiert die Ausstellung „Freundschaftsantiqua“ erstmals öffentlich ein spezielles Materialkonvolut.

Seit Anfang der 1950er Jahre gab es außer in den Betrieben auch an den Hochschulen und Universitäten in der DDR eine große Zahl an Studierenden, die keine Bürger und Bürgerinnen der DDR waren. Sie kamen meist aus afrikanischen und asiatischen Entwicklungsländern sowie dem europäischen sozialistischen Ausland. Auch an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig (HGB) gab es unter den Studierenden einen hohen Anteil jener. Im Archiv der HGB werden ihre Diplomarbeiten und Studienarbeiten verwahrt. Dieses Material ist kaum bekannt, ganze Werke und Werkgruppen, z. B. innerhalb der fotografischen Sammlungen, sind noch weitgehend unerforscht.

Generell stand bisher das Kapitel von Internationalität in Kunst, Kulturpolitik und -austausch in der DDR selten im Fokus von wissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Untersuchungen. Die Ausstellung betritt darum mit ihrem Schwerpunkt Neuland. Dieser erste Schritt der Aufbereitung und Sichtbarmachung des HGB-Materials bringt in die Bilder von Kunst und Kunstgeschichte der DDR aus kritischer Sicht neue Facetten ein.

Für die Ausstellung realisieren Christiane Eisler und Rozbeh Asmani künstlerische Neuproduktionen. In der Kunstvermittlung, im Begleitprogramm sowie in Publikationen werden Aspekte des Lebens und Arbeitens dieser DDR-BürgerInnen auf Zeit vertieft und wird an aktuelle gesellschaftliche Diskurse über Bildung und Interkulturalität angeknüpft.

Texte und Downloads

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Ostdeutsche Sparkassenstiftung LeipzigStiftung Kunstfonds

In Kooperation mit

logo HGB
Lädt…