Statement regarding current events

Statement_pic

The current social debates on racist violence and structural racism are of great concern to us as the team of a cultural institution.

These debates show us unequivocally that critical-reflective work can also (re)produce ignorance, hierarchies, exclusion and violence. From an intersectional perspective, we would thus like to speak out even more clearly for non-discriminatory participation, both within our own structures and in the social public sphere as a whole.

We understand the GfZK to be a place where people with different experiences and perspectives can come together, enter into an open dialogue and argue with one another. We are committed to a kind of togetherness that does not strive towards homogeneity, consensus or “normality”, but perceives differences and endorses hierarchy-free relationships based on solidarity.

This approach is not concerned “only” with the GfZK’s programme and activities. Indeed, it is a force that forms and changes the institution continuously. It is also inconceivable without support, interest, opposition and criticism from the outside!

In order to take a more decisive stance against racism and other forms of discrimination, we have developed the following initiatives:

We will make a critical analysis of the structures of the GfZK: the financing, the team, the working processes, the programme, the art collection, the contents of the library as well as the public sphere and networks via which we cooperate with others.

Using examples, we would like to present the artistic, mediation and cultural-political methods with which we as an institution oppose all forms of discrimination.

We would like to develop a communication strategy that places our work more clearly in the context of democratisation. In this way, we wish to demonstrate the links between our work and the fight against racism and discrimination, without appropriating it.

We would like to hold anti-racist training sessions in order to practice speaking out even more loudly against racism and discrimination. Here, our aim is not least to learn to recognise how we sustain racist and discriminatory structures ourselves.

Thank you for your obvious interest in the GfZK and for having the confidence to confront us with your criticism. Any form of criticism has a transformative power, and we would like to develop this in a joint process with you.

We will inform you of all events on our website, in our newsletter and on social media.

If you have any further questions and comments, please contact presse@gfzk.de

 

Loading …

Statement aus aktuellem Anlass

Statement_pic

Die aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Debatten um rassistische Gewalt und strukturellen Rassismus beschäftigen uns als Team einer Kulturinstitution sehr.

Mit großem Nachdruck machen uns diese Debatten bewusst, dass auch kritisch-reflexive Arbeit Unwissen, Hierarchien, Ausschlüsse und Gewalt (re)produziert. Aus einer intersektionalen Perspektive heraus möchten wir uns deshalb noch stärker für eine diskriminierungssensibel Teilhabe, sowohl innerhalb unserer eigenen Strukturen als auch in der gesellschaftlichen Öffentlichkeit, einsetzen.

Wir verstehen die GfZK als einen Ort, an dem Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Erfahrungen und Perspektiven einander begegnen, miteinander ins Gespräch kommen und miteinander streiten können. Wir engagieren uns für ein Zusammen-Sein, das nicht nach Gleichartigkeit, Einvernehmen oder „Normalität“ sucht, sondern Unterschiede wahrnimmt und hierarchiesensibel solidarische Beziehungen befördert.

Dieser Ansatz betrifft nicht „nur“ das Programm und die Angebote der GfZK. Vielmehr formt und verändert er die Institution fortlaufend. Auch ist er ohne die Unterstützung, das Interesse, den Widerspruch und die Kritik von außen nicht denkbar!

Um Rassismus und anderen Diskriminierungsformen entschiedener entgegenzutreten, haben wir folgende Handlungsansätze erarbeitet:

Wir werden die Strukturen der GfZK kritisch befragen: die Finanzierung, das Team, die Arbeitsabläufe, das Programm, die Kunstsammlung, den Bestand der Bibliothek sowie die Öffentlichkeiten und Netzwerke, in denen wir mit anderen zusammenarbeiten.

Anhand von Beispielen möchten wir die künstlerischen, vermittlerischen und kulturpolitischen Methoden darstellen, mit denen wir uns als Institution gegen jegliche Form von Diskriminierung stellen.

Wir möchten eine Kommunikationsstrategie entwickeln, die unsere Arbeit deutlicher in den Kontext der Demokratiebildung stellt. Damit wollen wir die Verknüpfungen zwischen unserer Arbeit und dem Kampf gegen Rassismus und Diskriminierung aufzeigen, ohne diesen zu vereinnahmen.

In antirassistischen Trainings möchten wir üben, uns noch deutlicher gegen Rassismus und Diskriminierung auszusprechen. Nicht zuletzt möchten wir dabei lernen zu erkennen, in welcher Weise wir selber rassistische und diskriminierende Strukturen stützen.

Wir danken für Ihr offensichtliches Interesse an der GfZK und für das Vertrauen, uns mit Kritik zu konfrontieren. In jeder Kritik steckt eine transformative Kraft, die wir mit Ihnen gemeinsam entfalten möchten.

Über die geplanten Veranstaltungen werden wir Sie auf unserer Webseite, in unserem Newsletter und den Sozialen Medien informieren.
Für Fragen und Rückmeldungen stehen wir Ihnen unter presse@gfzk.de zur Verfügung.

Lädt…