Bauhaus Residency 2020

© Bauhaus Dessau Foundation / Photo: Doreen Ritzau

The collectives for the Bauhaus Residency 2020 are known

Catalystas collective and Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor have been selected in an open call procedure for the Bauhaus Residency 2020. “The decisive factor was that these collectives are concerned with the city of Dessau and would like to work together with local residents – in a playful manner and in a way that addresses jointly formulated questions about the present,” the jury’s statement said. They will live in the Masters’ Houses for three months and work on Habitat, the annual topic of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation. The results and work processes will be presented in the Gropius House.

Catalystas collective is a collective of young women artists from Leipzig and Berlin. Carla Kienz, Maroua Krout and Johanna Richter work at the intersection of architecture, urbanism and performative artistic strategies. They invite us to reflect on living together and on urban or rural realities with their interventions in urban space and community-building actions.

The members of the Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudorcollective have been working together since 2000. In Dessau, they would like to deal with the relationship between social networks, data collection and monitoring technologies together with young people. The question of how individuals and communities can freely and democratically position themselves in the digital environment plays a central role.

In addition to the two collectives, the sculptor Inge Mahn and the writer Sujata Bhatt as well as the artist Jan Tichy and the writer Levin Westermann (enquired) are the residents in the newly conceived programme entitled Gropius House || Fictional. This is a cooperative project with the Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig and the Literaturhaus Berlin.

The results and work processes will be presented in the Gropius House.

D a t e s   f o r  t h e   B a u h a u s   R e s i d e n c y   2 0 2 0 :

2 Apr 2020, 12.30 pm

Brown Bag Lunch: Gropius House || Fictional

Writer Sujata Bhatt interviewed by Florian Strob (Bauhaus Dessau Foundation)

Literaturhaus Berlin, Fasanenstraße 23, 10719 Berlin

Information and tickets

//

19 Apr 2020, 11 am

Gropius House || Fictional. Inge Mahn and Sujata Bhatt

Exhibition opening

Gropius House

Information, free admission

//

25 May 2020, 7.30 pm

Sujata Bhatt

Writer Sujata Bhatt presents her texts written in Dessau together with her German translator Jan Wagner.

Literaturhaus Berlin, Fasanenstraße 23, 10719 Berlin

More dates will follow.

© Bauhaus Dessau Foundation / Photo: Doreen Ritzau

Loading …

Bauhaus Residenz 2020

© Bauhaus Dessau Foundation / Photo: Doreen Ritzau

Kollektive für Bauhaus Residenz 2020 stehen fest

Catalystas collective und Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor sind im Open-Call-Verfahren für die Bauhaus Residenz 2020 ausgewählt worden. „Entscheidend war, dass diese Kollektive sich mit der Stadt Dessau beschäftigen und mit den Anwohner*innen zusammenarbeiten wollen – spielerisch und in Auseinandersetzung mit gemeinsam formulierten Fragen an die Gegenwart“, heißt es in der Begründung der Jury. Sie werden drei Monate in den Meisterhäusern leben und zu Habitat, dem Jahresthema der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau, arbeiten. Die Ergebnisse und Arbeitsprozesse werden im Haus Gropius präsentiert.

Catalystas collective sind ein junges Künstlerinnen-Kollektiv aus Leipzig und Berlin. Carla Kienz, Maroua Krout und Johanna Richter arbeiten im Schnittpunkt von Architektur, Urbanistik und performativen künstlerischen Strategien. Mit ihren Interventionen im Stadtraum und Gemeinschaft stiftenden Aktionen laden sie zum Nachdenken über das Zusammenleben und über städtische oder ländliche Realitäten ein.

Das Kollektiv Mona Vatamanu & Florin Tudor arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 zusammen. In Dessau möchten sie sich gemeinsam mit Jugendlichen mit der Beziehung zwischen sozialen Netzwerken, Datenerfassung und Überwachungstechnologien auseinandersetzen. Die Frage, wie man sich individuell und als Gemeinschaft im digitalen Umfeld freiheitlich-demokratisch positionieren kann, spielt dabei eine zentrale Rolle.

Neben den beiden Kollektiven sind die Bildhauerin Inge Mahn und die Schriftstellerin Sujata Bhatt sowie der Künstler Jan Tichy und der Schriftsteller Levin Westermann (angefragt) die Residenzler*innen im neu konzipierten Programm mit dem Titel Haus Gropius || Fiktional. Es ist ein Kooperationsprojekt mit der Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst Leipzig und dem Literaturhaus Berlin.

Die Kollektive werden ihre Ergebnisse und Arbeitsprozesse im Haus Gropius präsentieren.

T e r m i n e   z u r   B a u h a u s   R e s i d e n z   2 0 2 0 :

2 . 4 . 2020, 12:30 Uhr

Brown Bag Lunch: Haus Gropius || Fiktional
Schriftstellerin Sujata Bhatt im Gespräch mit Florian Strob (Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau)

Literaturhaus Berlin, Fasanenstraße 23, 10719 Berlin

Infos und Tickets

//

19 . 4 . 2020, 11 Uhr

Haus Gropius || Fiktional. Inge Mahn und Sujata Bhatt

Ausstellungseröffnung

Haus Gropius

Infos, freier Eintritt

//

25 . 5 . 2020, 19.30 Uhr

Sujata Bhatt

Schriftstellerin Sujata Bhatt präsentiert ihre in Dessau entstandenen Texte zusammen mit ihrem deutschen Übersetzer Jan Wagner.

Literaturhaus Berlin, Fasanenstraße 23, 10719 Berlin

Weitere Termine folgen.

© Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau / Foto: Doreen Ritzau

Lädt…