Collecting in Time

Schaulager, The Present Order

 

International symposium with lectures, workshops, and panel discussion

Due to the proliferation of globalization and its concurrent technological developments art museums are currently facing new challenges. The ways in which they perform their educational mission and social responsibility are widely discussed. What could adequate responses to these socio-political shifts and the innovations of the digital age look like? How can the work of the museum be adapted to meet the demographic changes as well as social and cultural developments caused by migration and increasing transcultural connectivity? What are possible reactions to the intensified economisation of society, an increasingly event-based concept of culture, and tendencies of nationalisation in cultural politics?
These questions not only apply to temporary exhibition projects and mediation/educational programmes but also especially to the ways in which museums handle their collections. The symposium Collecting in Time seeks to link the current discussions about the role of art museums with a (re-)consideration of acquisition policies and new perspectives on public collections as the constitutive basis of the institution.

Programme
Thursday, March 30th 2017, 9.30am – 6pm
Panel 1: The Public Collection
This panel deals with the ways in which museums stage their collections publicly and make them accessible. What kinds of publics can be constituted by working with collections? How can museums provide different modes of access to their holdings? How can the values of an open society be performed and how can traditions be questioned with regard to their contemporary potential? Which sorts of activation are stimulated by presentations of the collection? Is it possible to think of collections as participatory?

Keynote lectures followed by workshops:
Dorothea von Hantelmann (Berlin): Forms of Participation. Attention Economies and the Becoming-Event of the Exhibition
Elke Krasny (Vienna): How Public Can It Be? Working on Assemblies and Collections
Liz Glass (Minneapolis): As I Live and Breathe: Contemporary Collections Online

Panel 2: Global Effects: Migration and Transculturality
Discussions in this panel reflect the ways in which global entanglements impact the collection practices of museums. How can postcolonial approaches be incorporated into the policies of collecting in museums of modern and contemporary art? What can museums do to foster new perspectives on their collections and to reassess their holdings? In how far do collections bear hidden conflicts and how could this affect their presentation? Is it possible to think of ‘other’ forms of collecting?

Keynote lectures followed by workshops:
Melanie Roumiguière (Berlin): Exploring Resonances – the Collection Policies of the National Museums of Berlin from the Perspective of the National Gallery
Ruth Noack (Berlin): Collecting Elsewhere
Nora Sternfeld (Helsinki, Vienna): Sedimented Conflicts and Other Archives – Challenging Collections

Friday, March 31th 2017, 9.30 am – 5 pm
Panel 3: Moving Collections
This panel considers the ways in which the cultural, institutional, regional and transregional interests and politics impact collection policies. How are specific localities consolidated in collections, and how can they be placed in broader contexts? Can translocal and transdisciplinary collection strategies reinforce the importance of the museum as a public space? What are the limits of expanded concepts of collecting?

Keynote lectures followed by workshops:
Marion Ackermann (Dresden): International/Interdisciplinary: 500 Years of Collecting for the Future
Aleksandra Kędziorek (Warsaw): Becoming a Museum (Collection)
Nick Aikens (Eindhoven): Deviant Museums? Notes on collections, constituencies and constitutions

Concluding discussion with all participants moderated by Beatrice von Bismarck

The conference will be held in German and English. Simultaneous translation for German contributions will be provided.

 

The symposium is supported by the VolkswagenStiftung

VolkswagenStiftung
Loading …

Symposium – Sammeln in der Zeit

The Present Order, Schaulager, Foto: Wenzel Stählin

Internationales Symposium mit Impulsvorträgen, Diskussionsrunden und Podiumsdiskussion

Vor dem Hintergrund einer fortschreitenden Globalisierung und Technisierung sehen sich auch Kunstmuseen neuen Anforderungen gegenüber. Ihr Bildungsauftrag und ihre gesellschaftliche Rolle stehen zur Debatte. In welcher Weise kann die Museumsarbeit dem demographischen Wandel, den sozialen und kulturellen Veränderungen – die etwa durch Migration und zunehmenden transkulturellen Verflechtungen auf der sozio-politischen Ebene hervorgerufen werden – begegnen? Wie bilden sich die technologischen Neuerungen im digitalen Zeitalter ab? Wie kann auf die Ökonomisierung, auf nationale Fokussierungen der Kulturpolitik oder auf einen zunehmend eventbasierten Kulturbegriff reagiert werden?

Die Frage, welche Effekte und Notwendigkeiten sich aus den gegenwärtigen Anforderungen ergeben, stellt sich nicht nur für temporäre Ausstellungsprojekte und Vermittlungsprogramme sondern insbesondere auch für den Umgang mit der Sammlung als konstitutivem Fundament des Museums. Das Symposium verknüpft die aktuelle Diskussion zur Rolle von Kunstmuseen mit einer Betrachtung möglicher Sammelstrategien und einer Neuperspektivierung der öffentlichen Sammlung.

Programm

Donnerstag, 30. März 2017, 9.30 – 18 h
Panel 1: Die öffentliche Sammlung
Wie wird eine Sammlung öffentlich? Welche Öffentlichkeit kann eine Arbeit mit und an der Sammlung herstellen? Welche Zugänge zu Sammlungsbeständen können geschaffen werden? Wie können Werte einer offenen Gesellschaft mit Hilfe von öffentlichen Sammlungen ausagiert und Traditionen auf ihr gegenwärtiges Potenzial befragt werden? Welche Form der Aktivierung können Sammlungspräsentationen erzeugen? Kann die Sammlung partizipativ gedacht werden?

Impulsvorträge mit anschließenden Diskussionsrunden:
Dorothea von Hantelmann (Berlin): Formen der Teilhabe, Ökonomien der Aufmerksamkeit und das Event-Werden der Ausstellung
Elke Krasny (Wien/Vienna): Wie öffentlich? Am Ver/Sammeln arbeiten
Liz Glass (Minneapolis): Wie ich lebe und atme: Zeitgenössische Sammlungen Online

Panel 2: Globale Effekte: Migration und Transkulturalität
Was sind die Wirkungen globaler Verflechtungen auf die Sammelpraxis von Kunstmuseen? Wie finden postkoloniale Ansätze Eingang in die Politiken des Sammelns an Museen moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst? Welche Konfliktfelder sind in Sammlungen angelegt? Wie können Sammlungsbestände neu betrachtet und bewertet werden? Welche Effekte könnte dies für die Präsentation der Sammlungsbestände haben? Welche Formen des ‚anderen’ Sammelns sind denkbar?

Impulsvorträge mit anschließenden Diskussionsgruppen:
Melanie Roumiguière (Berlin): Resonanzen erkunden. Die Sammlungsstrategien der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin aus der Perspektive der Nationalgalerie
Ruth Noack (Berlin): Andernorts sammeln
Nora Sternfeld (Helsinki, Wien): Sedimentierte Konflikte und andere Archive – (Sich mit) Sammlungen anlegen

Freitag, 31. März 2017, 9.30 h – 17 h
Panel 3: Sammlungen bewegen
Welche kulturpolitischen, institutionellen, regionalen und überregionalen Interessen beeinflussen die Strategien des Sammelns? Wie verdichten sich Lokalitäten in Sammlungen und wie lassen sie sich in einen übergeordneten Zusammenhang stellen? Können translokale und transdisziplinäre Sammlungskonzepte das Museum in seiner Bedeutung als öffentlicher Raum bestärken? Worin liegen die Grenzen ausgeweiteter Sammlungskonzepte?

Impulsvorträge mit anschließenden Diskussionsgruppen
Marion Ackermann (Dresden): International / Interdisziplinär: 500 Jahre Sammeln für die Zukunft
Aleksandra Kędziorek (Warschau): Ein Museum/eine Sammlung im Werden
Nick Aikens (Eindhoven): Abweichende Museen? Anmerkungen zu Sammlungen, Konstituierungen und Konstitutionen

Podiumsdiskussion mit allen Teilnehmer*innen moderiert von Beatrice von Bismarck

Die Konferenzsprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch. Es wird eine englische Simultanübersetzung für die deutschen Beiträge angeboten.

Das Symposium wird gefördert von der VolkswagenStiftung

VolkswagenStiftung
Lädt…