Spaces of Art

The starting point of the project Räume der Kunst is the GfZK’s socially critical concept of art and its continued efforts to establish links between aesthetic experience and the everyday world. Ever since it was founded, the GfZK has always placed importance upon the spaces in which art is produced and presented, continually expanding them. The café, the library, the shop and two hotel rooms are designed by artists, and art is shown in the Garden Room and in the grounds.

Whilst the opening up/expansion has created new areas of activity and encouraged new forms of expression, one cannot overlook the fact that there is an ambivalent outcome for art when the unity between space, work and subject is broken up. Several examples can be found in history: whenever the borderlines between the arts disappear and the public is actively involved – e.g. in the experimental presentations of the Avant-garde or innovative museum concepts of the Modern Era – the conflict-ridden relationships between politics and aesthetics, art and economy, education and discipline clearly surface.

In the first part of Räume der Kunst, Lars Bergmann, Martin Beck and Suse Weber exhibit their works in the New Building. In their approaches to the space and the institution, they engage in three very different practices. Although their positions stand side by side as separate entities, they also communicate with one another. Lars Bergmann uncovers structures of the New Building and allows the rooms to perform in their own right. Suse Weber goes beyond the format of the exhibition and stages a hybrid of installation and opera. Martin Beck transfers structures from the past to a present that must be newly encoded and negotiated. Each of the works demands a new orientation, either in a physical or in a purely intellectual sense.

 

NEUBAU

Lars Bergmann (born in Jena in 1978, lives and works in Leipzig) analyses rooms and their underlying structures/architecture. He pays special attention to corners, walls, pipelines, surfaces. He copies rooms, scans walls and installs printed copies of them in their primary sites in such a way that the originals disappear from view.  Bergmann builds negatives of rooms. He takes exact measurements and implants functional elements of the town(space) into exhibition rooms, generally using very simple/light materials. This leads to irritations and shifts that open up questions to the visitors and subsequently present them with tasks.

 

Emblematic sculptures

The works of Suse Weber (born in Leipzig in 1970, lives and works in Berlin) also follow the framework of a defined and coded vocabulary. Weber’s installations consist of sculpture, installation, production, performance, stage. As she herself says, it is the models of the viewers themselves that challenge the relationships between space, work and viewer. Weber examines social models and visualises them by offering representatives that have a physical/sensual effect on the viewer. On each occasion, her ensembles of the situation form in a new way – and take on local references.

 

…what follows may have produced what went before

The artistic works of Martin Beck (born in 1963 in Bludenz, lives and works in New York and Vienna) often make references to discourse from design, architecture and popular culture; forms of exhibition and display are a leitmotiv of his practice. His installations, photographs, films and other manifestations of his work incorporate elements from the past and the present, in constant motion. He often starts off from historical references which – researched in detail and subjected to processes of abstraction – are deposited in his contemporary works. The way in which he sets various temporal and formal orders in relation to one another opens up new approaches towards the present and history – quite in keeping with Martin Beck’s title for the Leipzig selection: …what follows may have produced what went before.

 

Mediation

In collaboration with the Museum of Contemporary Art, Master’s students from the Art History Department of the University of Leipzig analysed the shift in exhibition practices in the 20th century. As part of a study module oriented towards research practice during the winter semester of 2016/17, they studied several pioneering German and international exhibitions from the 20th and 21st centuries. The results are summarised in a brochure.

Kindly supported by

Druck
Loading …

Räume der Kunst

Das Projekt Räume der Kunst nimmt den gesellschaftskritischen Kunstbegriff der GfZK und den kontinuierlichen Versuch, ästhetische Erfahrung und Alltagswelt miteinander zu verknüpfen, zum Ausgangspunkt. Die GfZK hat seit ihrer Gründung die Räume, in denen Kunst produziert und präsentiert wird, thematisiert und stetig erweitert. Café, Bibliothek, Shop sowie zwei Hotelzimmer sind von Künstler*innen gestaltet, im Gartenhaus und im Außenraum wird Kunst gezeigt.

Während diese Erweiterung neue Handlungsräume aufgemacht und neue Ausdrucksformen hervorgebracht hat, sind die ambivalenten Effekte für die Kunst, die mit der Auflösung der Einheit von Raum, Werk und Subjekt einhergehen, nicht zu übersehen. Bereits in der Geschichte zeigen sich gerade da, wo Grenzen zwischen den Künsten aufgebrochen und das Publikum aktiv einbezogen wurde – beispielsweise in den experimentellen Präsentationen der Avantgarde oder in innovativen Museumskonzepten der Moderne – die konfliktreichen Beziehungen von Politik und Ästhetik, Kunst und Ökonomie, Bildung und Disziplinierung.

Im ersten Teil von Räume der Kunst stellen Lars Bergmann, Martin Beck und Suse Weber im Neubau aus. Sie verfolgen drei sehr unterschiedliche Praktiken im Umgang mit Raum und Institution. Die Positionen stehen unabhängig nebeneinander, gleichwohl sie miteinander kommunizieren. Lars Bergmann legt Strukturen des Neubaus frei und lässt die Räume selbst performen. Suse Weber sprengt das Format Ausstellung und inszeniert ein Hybrid aus Installation und Oper. Martin Beck transferiert Strukturen aus der Vergangenheit in eine neu zu codierende und verhandelbare Gegenwart. Jede  Arbeit fordert zu einer neuen Orientierung auf, die mal physisch ist oder ausschließlich im Kopf stattfindet.

 

NEUBAU

Lars Bergmann (1978 in Jena geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig) untersucht Räume und deren zugrunde liegende Strukturen/Architekturen. Sein Blick gilt den Ecken, den Wänden, den Leitungen, den Oberflächen. Er kopiert Räume, scannt Wände und installiert ausgedruckte Kopien an die Stellen ihres Ursprungs so, dass die Originale optisch verschwinden. Bergmann baut Negative von Räumen. Er nimmt genau Maß und implantiert funktionale Elemente des Stadt-(Raums) in einem meist sehr einfachen/leichten Material in Ausstellungsräume. Dabei entstehen Irritationen und Verschiebungen, die zunächst als Frage, dann als Aufgabe für Besucher*innen fungieren.

 

Emblematische Skulpturen

Dem Raster eines definierten und codierten Vokabulars folgen auch die Arbeiten von Suse Weber (1970 in Leipzig geboren, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin). Die Installationen Webers sind Skulptur, Installation, Aufführung, Performance, Bühne. Es sind, wie sie selbst sagt, Betrachter*innenmodelle, die das Verhältnis Raum-Arbeit-Betrachter*in herausfordern. Weber untersucht Gesellschaftsmodelle und visualisiert diese durch ein Angebot an Stellvertreter*innen, die auf die Betrachter*innen physisch-sensuell einwirken. Jedes Mal formieren sich ihre Ensembles der Situation entsprechend neu – mit lokalen Bezügen.

 

… what follows may have produced what went before

Um Rückführbarkeit bzw. um Verweise dreht sich auch die Arbeit von Martin Beck (1963 in Bludenz geboren, lebt und arbeitet in New York City und Wien). Er beschäftigt sich mit Design, Kunst, Architektur und den Formen des Ausstellens. Vergangenheit und Gegenwart stoßen bei  Beck immer wieder aufeinander. Die Fotografien, Installationen und Raumentwürfe befinden sich in ständiger Bewegung. Beck sucht historische Vorlagen bzw. Utopien auf und übersetzt sie im Abstraktionsprozess seiner künstlerischen Verwandlung in unsere Gegenwart. Diese Neu-Codierung erzeugt neue Möglichkeiten des Umgangs ganz gemäß des Titelsatzes von Martin Beck für die Leipziger Auswahl: … what follows may have produced what went before.

 

Vermittlung

Masterstudierende der Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Leipzig haben in Zusammenarbeit mit der Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst den Wandel der Ausstellungspraktiken im 20. Jahrhundert erarbeitet. Im Rahmen eines auf Forschungspraxis ausgerichteten Studienmoduls haben sie im Wintersemester 2016/17 einige wegweisende Ausstellungen des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts im deutschen und internationalen Rahmen studiert. Die Arbeitsergebnisse werden in einer Broschüre zusammengefasst.

 

 

 

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von

Druck
Lädt…